Third edition update (French version only; (th June 2015)

logoThe third edition of "Acoustic Ecology of European Bats was released in June 2015. It incorporates numerous corrections and updates (text, Excel and sound files) antérieures à sa parution. The book includes 344 pages bound between hard covers ; a band at the top of cover page 1 specifies the edition ; the DVD contains 294 sound files (e. g. 68 heterodyned and 221 in time expansion x 10) and 9 Excel files for identification.

The print run of 1000 copies sold out in the springEdition3_Modifications-12_2dec2020 2020.

General warning :

The updates deposited on this page concern the third édition ; they refresh the book content.

The latter is dense and complex ; it explains a method using a step-by-step approach. It is therefore vitally important not to separate the update files, from their context in the main text. This could lead to oversimplifications and misinterpretations in the methodology as well as in species identifications. All the files proposed can be freely downloaded ; but please do not forget to cite the source of the information in your work.

*****************************************************************

Text updates :

The updates are proposed as amendments (additional text to complete a given section) or corrections (text to replace a portion of the original text that was found to be inaccurate or incomplete, as a list in the “Modifications file” or as a separate file). The exact place of insertion of amendments and corrections in the book is always specified.

– « Edition3_Modifications-16_13mai2022 »

– « Edition3_Addendum1_janvier2019_P-kuhlii_signaux-sigmoides »

– « Edition3_Addendum2_aout2020_description-habitat_classification-especesdition3_Addendum2_aout2020_description-habitat_classification-especes »

− Fichier du DVD ; folder « SONS » ; sub-folder « 3_Expansion de temps x 10 ») : « Commentaires_séquences_expansion x 10_sept2019 »

Excel files updates (identification graphs) :

voir onglet “4th edition updates

Updates are proposed as new spectrograms, comments, or replacement graphs amended by new signal analyses or with correction of possible errors. The entire file is renewed and replaces the previous version. xls files of this third edition countain macros for the use of an utility module created by Roland Jamault (see pdf file “lisez-moi”). Please see the date in the title of the files below to check if your versions are up to date.

Regarding these xls files in particular, it is very important not to consider them on their own ; they must be replaced in their context in the book in order to be correctly interpreted.

NB : For Linux users who don't have Windows system, or for Windows users who don't have Excel program, you can use a free software (Gnumeric) which permit to use xls files ; it can be downloaded at : http://www.commentcamarche.net/download/telecharger-34056170-gnumeric

New : a web version (signed Roland Jamault) to use the identification graphs: http://geoeco.fr/ecologie_acoustique/

English page : http://geoeco.fr/ecologie_acoustique/en/index.html

Sound files updates :

Sound sequences (.wave standard) are proposed for downloading when helpful for clarification of amendments to the text. To download : on play page, click with the right mouse button then select “Save as”.

DVD3 : expansion de temps x 10 :

– « 036a_QFC&FM-fausse-alt_V-murinus_Hte-Savoie_aout2018©JF-Desmet » (uploaded in Juanary 2019)

– « 173b_FMsigmoide_P-kuhlii_Correze_aout2017©J-Vittier » (uploaded in Juanary 2019)

– « 173c_FMsigmoide_P-kuhlii_Maine&Loire_juillet2015©L-Bellion » (uploaded in Juanary 2019)

Mises à jour 3e édition (juin 2015)

logoLa troisième édition française d’Ecologie acoustique des chiroptères d’Europe est sortie en juin 2015. Elle intègre les nombreuses corrections et mises à jour (textes, fichiers Excel et sons) déposées sur ce site. Le livre comprend 344 pages sous couverture rigide ; un bandeau en haut de page 1 de couverture indique la 3e édition ; le DVD contient 294 fichiers sons (dont 68 en hétérodyne et 221 en expansion x 10) et 9 fichiers Excel utiles à l’identification.

 

Avertissement général :

Les mises à jour déposées sur ce site viennent réactualiser le contenu d’un ouvrage dense et complexe, abordant une méthode scientifique suivant une progression pédagogique. Il est donc impératif de ne pas déconnecter les fichiers informatiques de mise à jour, de leur contexte général. Ceci pourrait conduire à des simplifications génératrices d’erreurs dans la méthodologie d’étude comme dans l’identification des espèces. Tous les fichiers déposés sont téléchargeables librement ; merci de citer la source des informations dans vos travaux d’applications.

Mises à jour de texte :

Les mises à jour sont faites sous forme d’amendements (texte supplémentaire venant compléter un chapitre de l’ouvrage) ou de correctifs (texte venant remplacer une partie erronée ou incomplète de l’ouvrage, sous forme de liste dans le fichier “Modifications” ou de fichier à part). Dans tous les cas les emplacements concernés sont indiqués.

Mises à jour de fichiers Excel (graphiques d’identification) :

Les mises à jour consistent en des ajouts de spectrogrammes, de commentaires, ou en des remplacements de graphiques ayant été amendés par des nouvelles analyses de signaux ou corrigés de leurs erreurs éventuelles. Les fichiers complets sont renouvelés et remplacent les anciennes versions. Les fichiers xls de cette 3e édition contiennent des macros permettant l’usage d’un module utilitaire créé par Roland Jamault (voir fichier pdf “lisez-moi”). Pensez à contrôler la date indiquée dans le titre des fichiers ci-dessous pour vérifier si vos versions sont à jour. 

En particulier pour ces fichiers xls, nous rappelons l’importance de ne pas les utiliser seuls ; il est indispensable de les associer aux informations contenues dans le livre afin de permettre leur correcte interprétation.

NB : Pour les utilisateurs sous Linux ne disposant pas de Windows, ou pour les utilisateurs sous Windows ne disposant pas d’Excel, il existe un logiciel libre (Gnumeric) permettant d’afficher les fichiers xls ; il est téléchargeable ici :  http://www.commentcamarche.net/download/telecharger-34056170-gnumeric

Mises à jour de sons :

Des séquences sonores (.wave standard) sont déposées sur le site lorsqu’elles peuvent utilement illustrer les amendements de texte. Pour les télécharger : clic droit sur page de lecture puis “enregistrer sous”.

******************************************************************

Mises à jour de texte :

- « Edition3_Modifications-4_2juillet2017 »

 

Mises à jour de fichiers Excel (graphiques d’identification) :

- « Lisez-moi_éditions 3&suite »

- « Identification_Bbarbastellus_Barataud-jan2017 »

- « Identification_Hypsugo-Pipistrellus-Miniopterus_Barataud-jan2017 »

- « Identification_Myotis_Barataud-mai2017 »

- « Identification_NoctulesFM-SerotinesFM-GMurins_Barataud-jan2017 »

- « Identification_Nyctalus-Eptesicus-Vespertilio_Barataud-jan2017 »

- « Identification_Nyctalus-Tteniotis_Barataud-jan2017 »

- « Identification_Plecotus_Barataud-jan2017 »

- « Identification_Rhinolophus_Barataud-jan2017 »

Mises à jour de sons :

- « aucune mise à jour disponible »